The state can be divided into ten regions:

Northwest (Okoboji, Sioux City)

North Central (Fort Dodge, Mason City)

Northeast (Cedar Falls, Waterloo)

West Central (Council Bluffs, Atlantic)

Central (Des Moines, Ames)

East Central (Cedar Rapids, Iowa City)

East (Dubuque, Clinton)

Southwest (Clarinda, Red Oak)

South Central (Pella, Winterset)

Southeast (Burlington, Fort Madison)

About Iowa

Some Iowa state highlights include the Herbert Hoover National Historic site, Effigy Mounds National Monument, which preserves prehistoric mounds constructed in the outline of mammals, birds, and reptiles, Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail and the Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail.

For the most part, Iowa consists of rollings hills and can be split up into eight different landforms depending on glaciation, soils, topography, and river drainage. Steep hills and valleys that appear to be mountainous can be found in the Northeastern part of the state near the Mississippi River. On the east side of Iowa the state is bordered by the Mississippi River and on the west, it is bordered by the Missouri River and Big Sioux River, making this the only state whose east and west borders are formed completely by water. Iowa has great natural and man-made lakes and is most known for Spirit Lake, and Okoboji Lake found in Northwestern Iowa. A few of the man-made lakes are Lake Odessa, Saylorville Lake, Lake Red Rock, Coralville Lake, Lake MacBride, and Rathbun Lake.

Fun facts

  • State Capitol: Des Moines
  • Area: 56,276 square miles – 26th biggest state in the US
  • Population: 3,090,416
  • Major Industries: Agriculture (corn, soybeans, hogs, pigs) food manufacturing, insurance
  • Statehood: December 28, 1846 – 29th state in the US
  • State Bird: Eastern Goldfinch